Getting help

Entree #3

For some people getting help for mental illnesses is a rough road to trot and when just normal everyday life is debilitating how are you supposed to know how to navigate yourself through this unfamiliar environment? It’s tough and it’s something you shouldn’t beat yourself up about.

So I compiled a list of 6 reasons why it may be hard to find help and some advice on how to make crossing these barriers a little easier. All of which are ones I personally struggled with in my journey to getting the help that I needed.

Reason 1: Denial.

Many sufferers struggle with the concept of having a mental illness.  This isn’t very uncommon, they obviously know something is wrong with them but will create excuses to show why they are acting or feeling this way.

There isn’t much you can do to help these people other than talking to them and providing them with support when they do eventually come to terms with it.

Reason 2: Not wanting help.

Knowing what the problem is but denying themselves the help they need.  Often believing that they can “deal with it themselves”.  Some deny help because they have come to the conclusion that they are undeserving of it. For others it may be a matter of pride.

Many will try to deal with their mental illnesses in a negative manner, for example using alcohol and other addictive substances as a crutch. I find it is also typical to see people in this mindset isolating themselves.

To anyone in this mindset;

-You deserve help

-You need guidance, you are not coping well and it is okay to ask for help.

-People do care about you.

-And please find it within you to care about yourself, you deserve it.

Reason 3: Afraid of prejudices of others.

Ah yes, fear of the opinions of others.

You don’t want people forming new opinions of you, believing you are weak and unreliable.

You don’t want people finding out, or looking at you differently..

So so many people struggle with mental illnesses and it’s definitely nothing to be ashamed of. You’re brain is just being a little weird and that’s okay.  You’ll be surprised at how much you’ll learn about yourself and others when you are dealing with a mental illness such as anxiety or depression.

Reason 4:  Feeling lost, unsure on how to get help.

-Talk to people you trust

-Reach out to a councillor

-Call a helpline

-reach out to online services such as Headspace and Beyond Blue

-Talk to your doctor

Reason 5: Afraid of getting help

You will always have total control of your treatment and should not be forced into taking any medication or any treatment that you are not sure about. Control should only be limited if you are a risk to yourself or others.

Take a deep breathe and reach out, people are there to give you the help you need to get back on your feet, all you need to do is ask. I was honestly terrified to get help, but I can assure you I have not looked back since and I have no idea where I would be without the support I have today.

Reason 6: Not being taken seriously.

Especially if you’re a teenager you will struggle with being taken seriously. You will be told it’s just a faze and to get over it.  Some people will not believe you until it’s too late. For me talking to my parents was a huge deal. I was panicking and I needed someone and i was so done and tired of dealing with it myself and when I finally came to my senses to reach out, I was pushed aside. Don’t get disheartened by this, for many parents they find it difficult to believe that anything could ever be wrong with their son or daughter, it’s not because they don’t care. It’s because in their eyes you’re far too perfect.

It takes time to finally get help, even from councillors and psychologists, but you have to wait it out. You’ve made it this far. Be proud of yourself, because soon you will get the help you deserve.

A little life update… (I needed to tell someone that actually understands what a big deal this is)

I have some surprising good news! So I got marks back from a drama assessment I recently completed I got 20/20 for a set design I created and a high C for the essay section of the assessment.  The essay I was very worried about and I thought I would be lucky to get at least a couple marks… I freaked out and couldn’t think so I just started making dot points, sure it was disjointed and a bit wacky but at least I completed something to hand in!

So my tips for you folks that struggle with writing under exam conditions is to not give up and just write down what you know, don’t stress about structure too much, just get something down and you can improve it from there :).

Leave a Reply

